Collection

The museum’s collection consists of some 5000 items and includes nearly 400 paintings, a hundred sculptures, several objects of applied art as well as a remarkable number of prints, posters, drawings and watercolours by Swiss and international artists from the 17th to the 21st century. It is the result of more than a hundred years of enrichment through generous donations, purchases and prestigious deposits and is periodically presented to the public on the occasion of temporary exhibitions.

As the renovation work from 2011 to 2014 necessitated the relocation of the entire collection, this operation made possible to carry out an inventory of the collection and, at the same time, to trace its history. Until the 1950s, the collection consisted mainly of paintings and sculptures by Swiss and regional artists, many of them were deposited in the museum on behalf of the Confederation and the Gottfried Keller Foundation. In the second half of the 20th century, under the impetus of the curators Marcel Bergeon, Renée Feassler and Charles Chautems, acquisitions focused mainly on prints and important collections were built up.

.

Acquisition policy

The acquisition policy of the Société des beaux-arts et du musée du Locle is based on several factors. It favours regional and Swiss artistic productions as well as works by artists presented in temporary exhibitions. A potential acquisition is evaluated according to its artistic value, its relevance to the museum’s collections, its state and conditions of conservation, its documentary contribution, its inclusion in a temporary exhibition, its importance in the history of art and its historical and heritage interest.

.

Paintings

Mainly made up of works by Swiss and regional artists of the 19th and 20th century, the collection of paintings includes works by Albert Anker, the Barraud brothers, Emile Chambon, Charles Clément, Lucien Grounauer, Gustave Jeanneret, Edouard Jeanmaire, Charles L’Eplattenier, Carl Moll, Paul-Théophile Robert, Léopold Robert, Otto and Benjamin Vautier.

.

Prints

The museum’s prints collection currently contains more than a thousand works of Swiss and international artists such as Adam Call, Armleder, Auberjonois, Bonnard, Corot, Disler, Evrard, Giacometti, Goya, Hartung, Jacot, Jaquet , Le Corbusier, Luginbuhl, Matisse, Picasso, Toulouse-Lautrec and Villon to name only a few.

Since 1992, the museum holds a major event dedicated to the contemporary printed art. It thus seeks to promote reflection about prints and printing and on the approaches of artists expressing themselves through this medium.

No results found.
Comme le célèbre Martincho, Tauromachie Francisco de Goya y Lucientes 1815-1816
Polisseuses et Guillocheur Edouard Kaiser 1896
Industrie Maurice Mathey 1914

Collection

La collection du musée, forte de quelques 5000 pièces, comprend près de 400 peintures, une centaine de sculptures, plusieurs objets d’art appliqué ainsi qu’un nombre remarquable d’estampes, d’affiches, de dessins et d’aquarelles, signés par des artistes suisses et internationaux du XVIIe au XXIe siècle. Elle est le fruit de plus de cent ans d’enrichissements par de généreux dons, achats et de prestigieux dépôts et est périodiquement présentée au public à l’occasion d’expositions temporaires.

Les travaux d’aménagement de 2011 à 2014 nécessitant de déménager l’ensemble de la collection, cette opération a permis de réaliser un état des lieux de cette dernière et, par la même occasion, de retracer son histoire. Jusqu’aux années 1950, la collection est essentiellement composée de peintures et de sculptures d’artistes suisses et régionaux, pour beaucoup déposés au musée au nom de la Confédération et la Fondation Gottfried Keller. Dans la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, les acquisitions, sous l’impulsion des conservateurs Marcel Bergeon, Renée Feassler et Charles Chautems, se concentrent principalement sur l’estampe et d’importants fonds se constituent.

.

Politique dacquisition

La politique d’acquisition menée par la Société des beaux-arts et du musée du Locle repose sur plusieurs critères. Elle privilégie les productions artistiques régionales et suisses ainsi que les œuvres des artistes présentés lors d’expositions temporaires. Une acquisition potentielle est évaluée selon sa valeur artistique, sa pertinence par rapport aux collections du musée, son état et ses conditions de conservation, son apport documentaire, son intégration à une exposition temporaire, son importance au sein de l’histoire de l’art ainsi que son intérêt historique et patrimonial.

.

La peinture

La collection de peintures est constituée avant tout d’œuvres d’artistes suisses et régionaux des XIXe et XXe siècles, tels qu’Albert Anker, les frères Barraud, Emile Chambon, Charles Clément, Lucien Grounauer, Gustave Jeanneret, Edouard Jeanmaire, Charles L’Eplattenier, Carl Moll, Paul-Théophile Robert, Léopold Robert, Otto et Benjamin Vautier.

.

L’estampe

La collection du musée contient actuellement plus d’un millier d’œuvres d’artistes suisses et internationaux, tels qu’Adam Appel, Armleder, Auberjonois, Bonnard, Corot, Disler, Evrard, Giacometti, Goya, Hartung, Jacot, Jaquet, Le Corbusier, Luginbühl, Matisse, Picasso, Toulouse-Lautrec et Villon pour n’en citer que quelques-uns.

Depuis 1992, le musée organise tous les trois ans une importante manifestation consacrée à l’art imprimé contemporain. Le musée entend ainsi favoriser une réflexion sur l’art imprimé et soutenir les démarches des artistes s’exprimant à travers ce média.

Aucun résultat n'a été trouvé.
Comme le célèbre Martincho, Tauromachie Francisco de Goya y Lucientes 1815-1816
Polisseuses et Guillocheur Edouard Kaiser 1896
Industrie Maurice Mathey 1914