The MBAL

Since its reopening in 2014 and under the direction of Nathalie Herschdorfer, the MBAL – Musée des beaux-arts du Locle – has increasingly established itself as a reference institution in Switzerland. This is confirmed by the wide media coverage it receives and the increasingly diverse origins of its audience. Its programming succeeds in combining an aura of excellence with a spirit of discovery, while at the same time attracting a wide audience. Indeed, the great names of contemporary and modern art are in dialogue with young talents, who thus benefit from a real institutional recognition, precious to ensure the continuation of their careers. In 2021, the MBAL is launching a new, exclusively virtual exhibition space : the ORBIT_E.

What ?

Three temporary exhibitions a year broaden our perspectives : prints, photographs, installations, paintings… These monographic and thematic exhibitions bring together art from today and yesterday, from here and elsewhere. With the dual ambition of offering a programme that is both cutting-edge and daring, the MBAL exhibits both renowned artists and emerging artists of undeniable talent.

Who is it for ?

In the spirit of opening the museum’s doors to as many people as possible, the museum’s programme is aimed at all audiences. To bring the institution to life beyond the exhibitions, a cross-cultural programme is organised throughout the year, consisting of a choice of meetings, brunches, workshops and shows. With the aim of crossing artistic disciplines and creating bridges between them, the museum thus brings living arts into its programming. It is sometimes difficult to get through the door of an art museum. In order to cross this threshold with peace of mind, the MBAL is stepping out of its walls with a monumental work installed on the facade.

Where ?

Le Locle is a town in the Jura mountains bordering the department of Doubs in France. Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site along with the neighbouring town of La Chaux-de-Fonds, it has a unique urban layout that developed in the 19th century under the impetus of the watchmaking industry. The institution is located in the city centre and is part of the rich cultural landscape of the Neuchâtel mountains. The museum is a place to forget time, contemplate, dream and be surprised.

.

History

Origins of the museum

Shortly after Neuchâtel’s Revolution of 1848, a museum devoted to clock-making and natural sciences opened in Le Locle under the impetus of the association des Amis de l’Instruction. Gradually, the desire to promote local artistic activity became apparent and a group of enthusiasts founded the Société des Amis des Arts du Locle on March 7 1862. A collaboration with the Neuchâtel section was established and exhibitions of regional painting were held every two years in Le Locle. A collection, owned by the Société des Amis des arts du Locle, was created, consisting mainly of works painted by artists from the canton. In 1876, the association obtained the right to permanently occupy a room in the College. It thus celebrated the opening of the Musée des beaux-arts du Locle, run by a special committee. In the mid-1880s, the Société des Amis des Arts du Locle joined the Swiss Society of Fine Arts. This affiliation enabled it to host temporary exhibitions at the Turnus and to receive deposits from the Confederation and the Gottfried Keller Foundation. Faced with the growing need for a place suitable for the exhibition and conservation of works of art, the Musée des beaux-arts du Locle moved in 1913 to its present building on Rue Marie-Anne-Calame. The exhibition space was extended twenty years later with the construction of an annex to the west of the building.

A particular interest in prints

Since 1946, the museum has had keen interest in prints and printmaking. This orientation is manifested first of all through the organisation of numerous thematic exhibitions, such as the highly acclaimed 50 Years of French Engraving, presented to the public in 1950 and organized in collaboration with the National Committee of French engraving and the abinet des Estampes of Paris. The museum’s acquisition policy also focuses on prints, with an emphasis on engravings by the great masters of the 19th and early 20th centuries, while taking care to support contemporary production.

Other initiatives contributed to the dynamism of the museum’s activity and reinforce its attraction for prints. Since the mid-1880s,
an in-house print workshop has been set up on the ground floor, open to both artists and amateurs. Each year the museum publishes an original engraving by a Swiss artist, printed in a reduced number of copies and offered for sale at a reasonable price. In 1992, the Musée des beaux-arts du Locle organised the first edition of a three-yearly competition dedicated to printed art entitled “Prix de la ville du Locle”. Although at first it rewarded Swiss and foreign artists residing in Switzerland, the event expanded in 1998 by extending participation to international artists.

Renovations and major expansion

From 2011 to 2014, the Musée des beaux-arts du Locle is going through an unprecedented renovation with the aim of improving the conservation conditions of the collection, the presentation of the works in the exhibition rooms and the reception of the public. The work also aims to enhance the architecture of the building, in particular the glass and Art Nouveau-style stained glass windows, which have been placed under protection. When it reopens in 2014, the Museum includes a new café-boutique as well as modernised exhibition and storage spaces, adapted to current standards of preventive conservation and presentation of works.

Le MBAL

Depuis sa réouverture en 2014 et sous la direction de Nathalie Herschdorfer, le MBAL – Musée des beaux-arts du Locle – se profile toujours plus en Suisse comme une institution de référence. Cela est confirmé par la large couverture médiatique dont il bénéficie et les provenances toujours plus multiples de son public. Sa programmation réussit le défi d’allier aura d’excellence et esprit de découverte, tout en suscitant une large adhésion. En effet, les grands noms de l’art contemporain et moderne dialoguent avec de jeunes talents, qui bénéficient ainsi d’une vraie reconnaissance institutionnelle, précieuse pour assurer la suite de leurs carrières. En 2021, le MBAL lance un nouvel espace d’exposition exclusivement virtuel : l’ORBIT_E.

Quoi ?

Trois fois par an, des expositions temporaires démultiplient les points de vue : estampes, photographies, installations, peintures… Ces expositions monographiques et thématiques réunissent l’art d’aujourd’hui et d’hier, d’ici et d’ailleurs. Porté par la double ambition d’offrir une programmation à la fois pointue et audacieuse, le MBAL expose aussi bien des artistes de renom que des artistes émergents au talent incontestable.

Pour qui ?

Dans la volonté d’ouvrir les portes du musée au plus grand nombre, la programmation du musée s’adresse à tous les publics. Pour faire vivre l’institution au-delà des expositions, une programmation culturelle transversale, composée d’un choix de rencontres, de brunchs, d’ateliers et de spectacles, est organisée tout au long l’année. Avec la volonté de croiser les disciplines artistiques et de créer des passerelles entre elles, le musée fait ainsi entrer l’art vivant dans sa programmation. Il est parfois difficile de franchir la porte d’un musée d’art. Pour que ce seuil soit franchit sereinement, le MBAL sort de ses murs avec une oeuvre monumentale installée en façade.

Où?

La ville du Locle est située dans le Jura et fait frontière avec le département du Doubs en France. Inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO avec la ville voisine de La Chaux-de-Fonds, elle présente un urbanisme singulier qui s’est développé au 19e siècle sous l’impulsion de l’industrie horlogère. L’institution se trouve au centre-ville et s’inscrit dans le paysage culturel très riche des Montagnes neuchâteloises. Le musée est un lieu fait pour oublier le temps, contempler, rêver et se laisser surprendre.

.

Historique

Les origines du musée

Au lendemain de la Révolution neuchâteloise de 1848, un musée consacré à l’horlogerie et aux sciences naturelles ouvre ses portes au Locle sous l’impulsion de l’association des Amis de l’Instruction. Progressivement, la volonté de promouvoir l’activité artistique locale se manifeste et un groupe de passionné·e·s fondent la Société des Amis des arts du Locle le 7 mars 1862. S’établit alors une collaboration avec la section neuchâteloise, des expositions de peinture régionale sont présentées tous les deux ans au Locle. Une collection, propriété de la Société des Amis des arts du Locle, voit le jour, composée principalement d’œuvres peintes d’artistes du canton. En 1876, l’association obtient le droit d’occuper de manière permanente une salle du Collège. Elle fête ainsi l’ouverture du Musée des beaux-arts du Locle dirigé par un comité spécial. La Société des Amis des arts du Locle rejoint la Société suisse des beaux-arts au milieu des années 1880. Cette affiliation lui permet d’accueillir les expositions temporaires du Turnus et de recevoir des dépôts de la Confédération et de la Fondation Gottfried Keller. Face au besoin croissant de disposer d’un lieu adapté à l’exposition et à la conservation d’œuvres d’art, le Musée des beaux-arts du Locle s’installe en 1913 dans son bâtiment actuel Rue Marie-Anne-Calame. L’espace d’exposition est agrandi vingt ans plus tard par la construction d’une annexe à l’ouest du bâtiment.

Un intérêt marqué pour l’estampe

Depuis 1946, le Musée des beaux-arts du Locle témoigne d’un intérêt particulier pour l’estampe et l’art imprimé. Cette orientation se manifeste tout d’abord à travers l’organisation de nombreuses expositions thématiques tel que la très remarquée 50 ans de gravure française présentée au public en 1950 et fruit d’une collaboration avec le Cabinet des estampes de Paris et le Comité national de la gravure française. La politique d’acquisition du musée se concentre également sur l’estampe en privilégiant les gravures des grands maîtres du XIXe siècle et du début du XXe siècle, tout en veillant à soutenir la production contemporaine.

D’autres initiatives contribuent à dynamiser l’activité du musée et renforcer son attrait pour l’estampe. Depuis le milieu des années 1880, un atelier d’impression est aménagé au rez-de-chaussée, ouvert aussi bien aux artistes qu’aux amateurs, et le musée édite chaque année une gravure originale d’un artiste suisse tirée à un nombre d’exemplaires réduit et proposée à la vente à un prix raisonnable. En 1992, le Musée des beaux-arts du Locle organise la première édition d’un concours triennal dédiée à l’art imprimé intitulé « Prix de la ville du Locle ». Si dans un premier temps il récompense des artistes suisses et étrangers résidant en Suisse, l’événement prend de l’ampleur en 1998 en élargissant la participation aux artistes internationaux.

Des travaux de rénovation et d’agrandissement d’envergure

De 2011 à 2014, le Musée des beaux-arts du Locle connait une rénovation sans précédent ayant pour objectif d’améliorer les conditions de conservation de la collection, la présentation des œuvres dans les salles d’expositions ainsi que l’accueil du public. Les travaux visent également à revaloriser l’architecture du bâtiment, en particulier les verrières et les vitraux style Art nouveau mis sous protection. Lors de sa réouverture en 2014, le Musée comprend désormais un nouveau café-boutique ainsi que des espaces d’exposition et de stockage modernisés, adaptés aux normes actuelles de conservation préventive comme de présentation des œuvres