Montagne Magique Mystique

08.05.2021
26.09.2021

Trésors des collections suisses de photographie

When it was invented in the 19th century, photography was a technique that required not only mastery of physics and chemistry, but also some degree of artistry. In 1840, the year following the advent of photography, the first photographers, often self-taught, set up their darkrooms in the midst of Alpine landscapes. While their techniques could not reproduce the colours of the world, the ‘black-and-white’ rendering of light and shadow nevertheless took the form of a language that photographers enjoyed developing, and by the turn of the century, it had evolved into a highly refined aesthetic.

Many photographs were taken on the high peaks during the first century of photography, (1840-1940). From Auguste-Rosalie Bisson to Albert Steiner, through the recently discovered images of Rudolf Elber, Montagne Magique Mystique bears witness to the enthusiasm of photographers for the mountains. Many travelled to the Alps, while some were attracted to other remote regions: Vittorio Sella ventured to the Himalayas and Alaska; Ansel Adams worked in California; Knud Knudsen focused on Norway; Samuel Bourne travelled extensively in India. Although many photographs have undoubtedly disappeared over time, thousands of prints have survived, often thanks to the diligent work of alpine clubs, museums, libraries and private collectors, who are themselves passionate about mountains and their imagery. As for the mountaineers, they not only photographed profusely; some also collected images from other photographers, bringing back images from other imposing summits.

Focusing on the first 100 years of the history of photography, the MBAL’s research brings together more than 200 prints, many of which have never been shown to the public. To produce this unique exhibition, the museum has collaborated with eighteen Swiss public and private collections.

In addition, this programme announces the 6th edition of the contemporary photography festival Alt. +1000, which will take place in the Brévine valley in September 2021. To complete this exhibition devoted to landscape, the MBAL is publishing an unpublished text by the philosopher Emanuele Coccia, author of the remarkable essays “La Vie des Plantes” and “Metamorphoses”.

The exhibition is made possible by generous loans from numerous public and private collections in Switzerland. The exhibition is curated by William A. Ewing in collaboration with Nathalie Herschdorfer, Director of the MBAL.

Bibliothèque de la Ville de la Chaux-de-Fonds · Bibliothèque nationale, Berne · Collection Daniel Schwartz · Collection Doy Young et Gaudenz F. Domenig · Collection Nicolas Crispini · Collection Richard de Tscharner · Collection Thomas Walther · Fondation Auer Ory, Hermance · Fotostiftung Schweiz, Winterthur · Médiathèque du Valais, Martigny · Musée Alpin Suisse, Berne · Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel · Musée gruérien, Bulle · Musée national suisse, Zurich · Musée suisse de l’appareil photographique, Vevey · Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana, Lugano · Zentralbibliothek, Soleure

The exhibition was supported by the Fondation Le Cèdre, the Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz and the Contrôle des Métaux Précieux.

Montagne Magique Mystique

08.05.2021
26.09.2021

Trésors des collections suisses de photographie

À son invention au 19e siècle, la photographie est une technique qui demande des compétences non seulement chimiques et physiques, mais également artistiques. En 1840, l’année qui suit l’avènement de la photographie, les premiers photographes posent leur chambre noire au milieu du paysage alpin. Alors que cette technique ne reproduit pas les couleurs du monde, le noir et blanc devient néanmoins une tonalité que les photographes se plaisent à explorer, puis au tournant du 20e siècle ce travail autour de l’ombre et de la lumière devient une esthétique revendiquée en tant que telle.
Des centaines de milliers de photographies ont été réalisées sur les hauts sommets au cours du premier siècle de la photographie (1840-1940). D’Auguste-Rosalie Bisson à Albert Steiner en passant par les images récemment découvertes de Rudolf Elber, Montagne Magique Mystique témoigne de l’engouement des photographes pour la montagne. Ceux-ci se rendent dans les Alpes, mais également dans d’autres contrées, comme Vittorio Sella qui a parcouru l’Alaska, Ansel Adams la Californie, Knud Knudsen la Norvège ou Samuel Bourne l’Inde. Si beaucoup de photographies ont sans aucun doute disparu avec le temps, des milliers de tirages ont survécu, souvent grâce au travail assidu des clubs alpins, des musées, des bibliothèques et des collectionneurs, eux-mêmes passionnés de montagne. Quant aux alpinistes, ils n’ont pas seulement photographié à profusion, ils ont aussi collecté les images d’autres photographes de montagne, rapportant des images d’autres sommets.

Se concentrant sur les 100 premières années de l’histoire de la photographie, la recherche menée par le MBAL réunit plus de 200 tirages dont la plupart n’ont jamais été montrés au public. Pour réaliser cette exposition inédite, le musée a collaboré avec 18 collections suisses publiques et privées.

De plus, cette programmation annonce la 6e édition du festival de photographie contemporaine Alt. +1000 qui aura lieu dans la vallée de la Brévine en septembre 2021. Pour compléter cette exposition consacrée au paysage, le MBAL publie un texte inédit du philosophe Emanuele Coccia, auteur des essais remarquables « La vie des plantes » et « Métamorphoses ».

L’exposition est réalisée grâce aux prêts généreux de nombreuses collections publiques et privées de Suisse. Le commissariat est assuré par William A. Ewing, en collaboration avec Nathalie Herschdorfer, directrice du MBAL.

Bibliothèque de la Ville de la Chaux-de-Fonds · Bibliothèque nationale, Berne · Collection Daniel Schwartz · Collection Doy Young et Gaudenz F. Domenig · Collection Nicolas Crispini · Collection Richard de Tscharner · Collection Thomas Walther · Fondation Auer Ory, Hermance · Fotostiftung Schweiz, Winterthur · Médiathèque du Valais, Martigny · Musée Alpin Suisse, Berne · Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel · Musée gruérien, Bulle · Musée national suisse, Zurich · Musée suisse de l’appareil photographique, Vevey · Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana, Lugano · Zentralbibliothek, Soleure

L’exposition a reçu le soutien de la Loterie Romande, de la Fondation Le Cèdre, de la Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz et du Contrôle des Métaux Précieux.